by Wayne Holloway-Smith

We are excited to announce the publication of I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE WENDING, a non-linear sequence of poems by prize-winning poet Wayne Holloway-Smith.

The work is based upon ideas and structures that play with contingency and coincidence. The title, taken from a misspelt line written by Holloway-Smith’s daughter, plays upon the inventiveness of linguistic accident, setting the tone for a collection of poems which relish the creativity of chance.

Formal patterns are stretched beyond the limits of individual poems and across the sequence as a whole, while recurring images are used to reflect upon and make sense of the pervasive anxieties around which the poems revolve.

The format of the publication materialises the poems’ playfulness: traditional black ink is replaced by a range of fourteen different colours which appear arbitrary but are subtly patterned. The poems can be read in any order, and are printed on unpaginated, unbound sheets, inviting the reader to approach the work in their own way.

I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE WENDING marks an exciting development in Wayne Holloway-Smith’s work, building upon his previous publications with a new sense of freedom and experimentation.

£12 + p&p; 210 x 148mm; 24pp; 350 copies
Unbound, loose pages, housed within a custom-made envelope
Interior: 250gsm Cyclus offset; Exterior 240gsm Pop’Set Maritime Blue
Risograph printed in 14 different colours
Printed by Calverts
Designed by Theo Inglis
ISBN: 978-0-9935693-8-8

BUY NOWAdd to basket and checkout

Author Interview



I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE WENDING will be launched in October alongside Jack Underwood’s forthcoming Solo For Mascha Voice/Tenous Rooms.

With readings by Wayne Holloway-Smith, Jack Underwood, Theis Anderson and Kandace Walker.

7pm, Thursday 25 October 2018

Hannah Barry Gallery, 4 Holly Grove, London SE15 4DF

About Wayne Holloway-Smith

Wayne Holloway-Smith’s debut collection of poetry, Alarum, was published by Bloodaxe Books in 2017, was shortlisted for the Roehampton Prize and the Seamus Heaney Centre Prize for First Full Collection, and was a Guest Selection for the Poetry Book Society. He won the Geoffrey Dearmer Prize 2016.

Test Centre publications featuring author

Share this page